Hawk and Dove March 26, 2013: “Hawk” is a Merlin.

Hawk

Hawk7

Dove

The Dove was lunch-meat. The Hawk (Norris and the experts at the Maine-birding list have ID’d this as a Merlin) crashed into the window after picking the dove off the deck railing. The falcon  held onto the Dove on the deck until it saw me and retreated to the tree where it stayed for at least 10 minutes.

New Info:   My thanks to everyone who helped with the ID.  Wally tells me that he found the Dove dead on the deck and took it into the woods to R.I.P.  So, it did not fly away.

Thank you, everyone!

2 Responses to “Hawk and Dove March 26, 2013: “Hawk” is a Merlin.”

  1. Robin R Robinson Says:

    Great pic of the hawk in Qestion. Doesn’t look like a Sharpie to me.

  2. Norris Says:

    Female merlin?

Leave a comment